ICAC Football




The Independent College Athletic Conference (ICAC) was founded in 1964, consisting of the following schools:

  • Alfred
  • Clarkson
  • Hobart
  • RPI
  • St. Lawrence
  • Union

Clarkson dropped football before the ICAC was formed, leaving a five-team conference. Scheduling in the ICAC was loosely done, only three seasons (1969, 1970 and 1971) saw a complete round-robin accomplished. Those were the three seasons between Union's departure and the arrival of Ithaca and RIT. Notably, RPI and Ithaca never played in the nineteen years both were in the conference. Disinterest in the conference's football play led to it being dropped from the ICAC, prior to its change to the Empire Athletic Association (EAA) in 1991. The EAA eventually became the Empire 8 in 1999 and started sponsoring football in 2002, but the Empire 8 does not overtly recognize the earlier ICAC football in its history.



1964 Independent College Athletic Conference (ICAC) founded.

Football began with Alfred, Hobart, RPI, St. Lawrence and Union, all previously independent.

1968 Union's final season, the school departed the ICAC before the next season.
1972 Ithaca and RIT joined, both previously independent.
1977 RIT dropped football after the season.
1990 ICAC ceased sponsoring football after the season.